CIDG appeals dismissal of raps vs. 31 nabbed in Bacolod raids


The Philippine National Police-Criminal Investigation and Detection Group in Western Visayas (CIDG-6) has appealed the dismissal of the complaint against the 31 persons arrested by police and military troops during the raids here on Oct. 31.

An 11-page motion for reconsideration was filed by the CIDG-6, represented by Lt. Col. Luke Ventura, before the Office of the City Prosecutor recently.

Capt. Cenon Pancito III, public affairs chief of the Philippine Army’s 3rd Infantry Division, who was present during the filing, said such is a legal remedy availed of by the police, which has been given 10 days by the prosecutor to seek an appeal.

“It is the prayer of the CIDG to also hold accountable the 31, not just outrightly dismiss the complaints against them. This will allow the judge to evaluate the (pieces) of evidence,” he added.

In the motion, the CIDG said “(c)onspiracy exists between and among the individuals who were arrested” and “there is probable cause for the indictment of all individuals arrested”.

The 31 were among the 42 suspected Communist Party of the Philippines-New People’s Army (CPP-NPA) members charged with illegal possession of firearms, ammunition and explosives after they were arrested in four search operations in the areas occupied by progressive groups Bagong Alyansang Makabayan, Kilusang Mayo Uno, Gabriela, Anakpawis and National Federation of Sugar Workers.

Police and military operatives seized 32 firearms, 130 rounds of ammunition, and five explosives during the simultaneous raids.

In a resolution dated Nov. 4, Senior Assistant City Prosecutor Fernand Castro dismissed the charges against the 31 for lack of probable cause, and they were immediately released after receiving a copy of the ruling.

They were Mario Estrobo Aguelan Jr., Richard Sajo, Richre Paparon Remada, Geovanie Pollentes Morad, Mark Anthony Tagaytayan Olaera, Ernie Rebias Escoltor, Joey Plaza Micmic, Jessie Ryan Hecita Doza, Charlie Alintoson Lozada, Ernesto Judiadan Dodoyco Jr., Randy Domadiego Agbones, Junelle Jusal Miraflor, Gerry Magbanua Lacson, Marlito Apunan Escaner, and Eddie Fernandez Ibon.

Others included Joedelmar Anfory Tano, Jecards Austero Jamero, Jemar Rojo Santellan, Ashly Mark Sanong Antes, Jefherdy Gewon Alipoton, Richard Mag-aso Escada, Rolando Bilches de los Reyes, John Carlo Larbo Capanas, Glanie Guimbal Hambre, Mario Ayo Tambiga, Joebert Lozada Belarmino, Ramil Gonzales Ayco, Jefherd Genon Alipoon, Joelito Telebrico Sumaque, Esmael Asplico Lorca, and Jessie Taasan Badonasa.

Of the group, 21 were identified as former employees of Ceres bus operator Vallacar Transit Inc., who were represented by legal counsel Jose Max Ortiz. (Nanette Guadalquiver ndb via pna)