29.9 C
Tuesday, April 23, 2024

The LGU and JCI Zamboanga honors in fitting rites of the Five Outstanding Zamboangueno Young Leaders

- Advertisement -

The legacy of Roseller T. Lim, the first and only Zamboangueno senator lives on, as the City Government and the JCI Zamboanga, Inc. honored in fitting rites of the Five Outstanding Zamboangueno Young Leaders, Thursday night, February 9.

The award recognizes excellence, youth leadership and community service as exemplified by the late Senator Roseller T. Lim.

The 2023 FOZYL awardees are Ramsyss M. Andaya, Grant Wynn B. Arnuco, Noryn Jane M. Esguerra, Juniebe L. Manganohoy, Jomer L. Mukail. They were feted during formal rites held at the Garden Orchid Hotel Thursday night, highlighting the commemoration of Dia de Roseller T. Lim, that marked the senator’s 108th birth anniversary.

Present during the event were city officials, members of the Lim family, officers and members of the JCI led by JCI Philippines National President Kerby Salazar, Past National President Randolf Ivan Ruste, and JCI Zamboanga President Ron Jason Galoso and other guests.

FOZYL is a joint undertaking of the JCI Zamboanga Inc. and the City Government and forms part of the annual observance of the Dia de Roseller Lim.

The observance of the Dia de Roseller Lim is pursuant to Ordinance 283 authored by then Councilor Rudy Lim and approved in 2006, designating Feb. 9 every year as “Dia de Roseller T. Lim”. In the same year, a bronze monument was carved at the rotunda of the Normal Road and R.T. Lim Boulevard.

The Dia de Roseller Lim Thursday kicked off with the 4pm commemorative mass at the Carmelite Church followed by the wreath laying rites and program at the R.T. Lim Monument at the rotunda.

(Source: City Government of Zamboanga Facebook page, photo courtesy by Yoshi Rodriguez)

- Advertisement -

Leave a Reply

- Advertisement -

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -