29.5 C
Wednesday, April 17, 2024

10 Ilocos Norte outstanding teachers cited in 2023 Bannuar Awards

- Advertisement -

An educator who champions the use of Information and Communications Technology (ICT) led nine other Ilocos Norte teachers as this year’s Bannuar Awards winners.

Marc Paul Calzada was a teacher of Sarrat National High School (SNHS) when he initiated Project STAR (Strengthening Teachers’ Aptness Skills) in 2021 to empower educators in utilizing ICT tools to teach their students online because of the pandemic.

He also initiated the implementation of Project Sarrat National High School in Action for Robotics, Research and Advanced Technology. It helped four SNHS learners bag three major awards in the 2021 World Robot Games, participated in by 28 teams from different countries.

One of the students’ innovations is the A.C. BOT (After-Covid Robot), a walking machine that automatically dispenses alcohol for disinfection and comes with a dust bin and an automatic night lamp.Calzada transferred to Mariano Marcos State University this year, specifically at the College of Teacher Education.

The other winners in the annual service awards for outstanding educators are Rafael Simeon of the Piddig National High School, Rowel Alexander Ross Orocero of Darayday Elementary School, Mirasol Rosete of Badoc South Central School SPED Center, Rolando Esteban of Caruan Elementary School, Alvin Jay Bancud of Saud Elementary School-Badoc District, Richard Ian Bert Bolosan of Cadaratan National High School, Junel Corpuz of Ilocos Norte National High School, Maria Suerte Fontanilla of Libnaoan Elementary School, and Gilbert Isla of Ferdinand E. Marcos Senior High School.

This service award recognizes and rewards Ilocano teachers for their “heroic deeds, exemplary works, innovative ideas, inventions, discoveries, superior accomplishments, commendable behavior, extraordinary acts in the public interest, and other personal efforts contributing to efficiency, economy, and improvement in government operations which lead to organizational productivity.”

Nominees should have a length of service of at least five consecutive years in the teaching profession; have consistently performed high quality of work; have exhibited a high degree of professionalism; possess a performance rating of at least Very Satisfactory in the last five performance rating periods prior to nomination; have morality and integrity both in public and private life; have not been suspended, charged, or found guilty of any administrative, criminal, or civil offense/case; and have completed academic requirements for Master’s degree.

The awardees received PHP30,000 each, a plaque of recognition, and a gold medallion during the awarding ceremony on Tuesday, according to Dany Daquioag, chair of the board of assessors.

The program was sponsored by the Energy Development Corporation (EDC) in partnership with the provincial government.

“We are grateful for this opportunity to be a part of this initiative to recognize our hardworking teachers who go above and beyond their call of duty,” Maria Nancy Ibuna, EDC corporate relations head, said.

Ibuna pointed out that while the company continues to advocate for the shift to clean and renewable energy, education plays a key role in equipping future generations with the skills and knowledge to become champions of the environment.

Like in the previous year, the Bannuar awardees committed to advocate environment protection and preservation in support of the government and EDC’s flagship reforestation program called Binhi (Seed), which aims to promote native and endemic trees in Northern Luzon.

Author: Leilanie Adriano
Source: PGIN


- Advertisement -

Leave a Reply

- Advertisement -

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -