‘SiPons’ looking unbeatable in beach volley tour 2nd leg


CREAMLINE 1’s Sisi Rondina and Bernadeth Pons made quick work of Black Mamba Army 2’s Jem Gutierrez and Audrey Paran, 21-8, 21-5, to dominate Pool A of the Beach Volleyball Republic on Tour second leg in Santa Ana, Friday.

The top Philippine beach volleyball tandem called “SiPons,” swept the four-match pool play to remain on course for a second straight championship in the bubble.

Durable as ever, Rondina and Pons beat Delimondo’s MJ Ebro and Bianca Lizares in straight-sets, 21-8, 21-10, in the morning session.

Creamline 2’s Dij Rodriguez and Dzi Gervacio moved closer to sweeping Pool B by trouncing Toyota Tuguegarao’s Nicole Tiamzon and Jho Maraguinot, 21-13, 21-19. The Cool Smashers’ second team, third placers in the first leg, were also unbeaten in four matches.

Rodriguez and Gervacio opened the day with a 21-12, 21-14 romp of Eastern Communications Perlas Spikers’ Mich Morente and Jules Samonte.

PLDT’s Ella and Iza Viray moved to second place in Pool B at 3-1 won-lost following a 21-7, 21-18 victory over Toyota Tuguegarao’s Nicole Tiamzon and Jho Maraguinot and 21-9, 21-16 tripping of Sta. Lucia 2’s Bang Pineda and Chay Troncoso.

Pineda and Troncoso, who roared back from a 0-5 deficit in the deciding set to outlast Black Mamba Army 1’s Nene Bautista and Jeannie delos Reyes, 19-21, 21-13, 15-10, fell to a 2-2 card.

Bautista and de los Reyes rebounded in the afternoon with a 21-18, 21-11 win over Morente and Samonte to also post a 2-2 slate.

Sta. Lucia 1’s Jackie Estoquia and DM Demontaño used a strong 9-2 third set start en route to a 21-18, 16-21, 15-10 victory over Biogenic’s Roma Joy Doromal and Heather Guino-o to raise their record to 2-1 in Pool A.

Doromal and Guino-o failed to follow up on their 21-16, 21-18 victory over Gutierrez and Paran to drop to 1-2 in a tie with Ebro and Lizares in third place.

In men’s action, Creamline 1’s Jude Garcia and Krung Arbasto, also vying for a back-to-back title romp, swept DeliRush 2’s Nichol Jundana and Jeffer Guerrero, 21-14, 21-10 and Army 1’s Joel Villonson and Randy Fallorina, 21-10, 21-11, to stay perfect in Pool B.

EVI Construction’s Doy Barrica and KR Guzman kept within reach of the first leg champions following a 21-9, 21-15 win over Orchard Fresh’s Rhenze Hu and Benjaylo Labide, and a 21-15, 21-15 victory over Jundana and Guerrero for a 3-1 slate.

Tuguegarao’s James Pecaña and AJ Pareja got back at first leg tormentor Negros Occidental Beach Volleyball Club’s Deanne Neil de Pedro and Eljhay Ronquillo, 21-17, 14-21, 15-11, and later took the Pool A lead at 3-0 following a 24-26, 21-13, 15-11 decision of DeliRush 1’s Evan Laraya and Joven Camaganakan.

De Pedro and Ronquillo bounced back with a 18-21, 25-23, 15-12 victory over Creamline 2’s Ranran Abdilla and Romnick Rico for a 2-1 slate.

Abdilla and Rico, who barged into the win column following a 21-19, 21-19 victory over Army 2’s Jason Uy and Josh Barrica, slipped to 1-3.

Read full article on BusinessMirror