29.8 C
Wednesday, April 17, 2024

PNVF national beach volleyball team to set up training camp in Club Laiya

- Advertisement -

THE national beach volleyball teams will hold training camp at the Club Laiya in Batangas following a partnership forged between the Philippine National Volleyball Federation (PNVF) and Landco Pacific Corp.

PNVF President Ramon “Tats” Suzara and Club Laiya consultant Patrick “Pato” Gregorio signed the memorandum of agreement over the weekend during the Volleyball World Beach Pro Tour Futures where the Philippines won gold and silver—a breakthrough achievement—in the women’s competition.

“We gladly and sincerely appreciate this partnership with Club Laiya on the beach volleyball training camp,” Suzara said. “The timing is perfect now that we achieved a breakthrough on the global beach volleyball stage.”

PNVF vice president Dr. Arnel Hajan, secretary-general Donaldo Caringal, Landco Pacific Corp. VP for Sales and Marketing Gerard Peñaflor, Philippine Olympic Committee deputy secretaries-general Carl Sambrano and Karen Tanchanco Caballero and members of the national men and women teams witnessed the ceremony staged on Court 2 of the Subic Bay Sand Court inside the Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority.

“We at Club Laiya welcome the national beach volleyball teams,” said Gregorio, Tourism and Hospitality consultant for Millennial Resorts Corporation. “It’s a pleasure for us to have our national beach volleyball athletes hold their training camp in our resort.”

The one-year partnership starts in January 2023.

Under the agreement, two beach volleyball courts will be built at Club Laiya with 10 of the 18 members of the national men and women team holding camp seven days a week in Batangas. The rest of the national athletes who are still students will be in Laiya on weekends.

Philippine beach volleyball achieved a milestone last Sunday after the Sisi Rondina-Jovelyn Gonzaga and the Genesa Jane “Jen” Eslapor-Floremel Rodriguez duo won gold and silver at the Volleyball World Beach Pro Tour Futures, the best finish by any national team in a major international competition.

There are three teams each in the national men and women squads which recently welcomed renowned Brazilian coach Joao Luciano Kioday and managed by former national athlete Mayi Molit-Prochina.

The third women’s team coached by Jan Paul Doloiras and Romnick Rico is composed of Grydelle Joanice Matibag and Khylem Harl Progella.

The men’s squads coached by Rhovyl Verayo and Jason Gabales are Anthony Lemuel Arbasto Jr. and Jude Garcia for Team 1, Alnakran Abdilla and Jaron Requinton for Team 2 and James Buytrago and Pol Gringo Salvador for Team 3.

Read full article on BusinessMirror

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -