28.8 C
Wednesday, April 24, 2024

PBBM urges govt to make economic gains felt by Filipinos

- Advertisement -

President Ferdinand R. Marcos, Jr. urged concerned government agencies on Monday to ensure their anti-poverty and peace efforts are “felt” by Filipinos. 

“Sabihin na natin gumanda nang husto ang ekonomiya ng Pilipinas, hindi naman bumababa at hindi naman nararamdaman ng taong-bayan eh sayang lang ang ating naging trabaho (Let us say the economy of Philippines greatly improves, and it is not felt by the citizens, our efforts would have been wasted),” Marcos said during an oath-taking ceremony in Malacañang.

Among those, who attended the event are the new officials of the National Amnesty Commission (NAC), National Anti-Poverty Commission (NAPC), Marawi Compensation Board (MCB), Office of the Presidential Adviser on Peace, Reconciliation, and Unity (OPAPRU). 

The President said NAPC should help in distributing wealth equitably, while OPAPRU should continue implementing the peace process.

For the MCB, he said, it should focus on bringing back the displaced residents of Marawi City back to their rehabilitated communities, which were devastated by armed conflict in 2017. 

The President made the pronouncements after labor and other groups criticized how the much touted 7.6 percent full-year economic growth last year did little to reduce the financial burden of most Filipinos. 

He said he is confident the newly appointed officials of NAM, NAPC, MCB, and OPAPRU will be able to deliver on their new tasks. 

“I look forward to hearing from you as you get to settle into your jobs,” 

The newly designated officials from NAC include Leah T. Armamento as chaiperson as well as Jamar M. Kulayan and Nasser A. Marohomsalic as commission members. 

Lope B. Santos II was appointed as Lead Convenor.

Also newly appointed are the following MCB officials: Maisara Dandamun-Latiph (chairperson); Romaisa L. Mamutuk (board member); Jamaica L. Dimaporo (board member); Sittie Aliyyah L. Adiong (board member); Mustapha C. Dimaampao (board member); Dalomabi Lao Bula (board member); Mabandes Sumndad Diron Jr. (board member); Nasser M. Tabao (board member); Mosmelem Macarambon Sr. (board member). 

For OPAPRU, the new appointments are David B. Diciano (Presidential Assistant 1); Arnulfo R. Pajarillo (Presidential Assistant I); Isidro L. Purisima (Presidential Assistant I); Andres S. Aguinaldo Jr. (Executive Director IV); Susana Guadalupe H. Marcaida (Executive Director IV); Wilben M. Mayor (Executive Director IV); Cesar D. De Mesa (Executive Director IV).

Image credits: Nonie Reyes

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -