Laguna placed under ECQ; Iloilo City, Cagayan de Oro ECQs extended


Laguna will be placed under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) starting on Friday, while the lockdown in Iloilo City and Cagayan de Oro were extended until later this month.  

This after President Rodrigo Roa Duterte approved Thursday the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) to place the three areas under Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ) beginning August 6 until August 15, 2021.

The ECQ for Iloilo City and Cagayan de Oro were supposed to end on Friday before it was extended. 

Presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said Duterte decided to escalate the community quarantine classification for Cavite, Lucena City, and Rizal from general community quarantine (GCQ) with heightened restrictions to modified ECQ (MECQ). 

Meanwhile, the classification for Iloilo Province was downgraded from ECQ to MECQ. 

The MECQ classification for the said 4 areas will last from August 6 to August 15, 2021 
“Batangas and Quezon, on the other hand, shall be placed under General Community Quarantine (GCQ) with heightened restrictions from August 6 to August 15, 2021,” Roque said in a brief statement. 

Batangas and Quezon were previously under regular GCQ. 

Roque said the classification of the municipality of Gingoog will also be eased from ECQ to GCQ with heightened restrictions starting Aug. 8 following the quarantine classification of its mother province, Misamis Oriental.

The IATF made the recommendation amid reports that several local government officials are appealing to have CALABARZON placed under ECQ amid the alarming spike in novel coronavirus disease cases in the said region.  

Read full article on BusinessMirror

Leave a Reply