32.7 C
Sunday, April 21, 2024

DOH deploys medical professionals to mineral-rich Davao de Oro province

- Advertisement -

DAVAO CITY—The Department of Health (DOH) deployed a total of 248 medical professionals to the mineral-rich to Davao de Oro (DDO) reinforce province’s human resource requirement.

Provincial DOH Office head Dr. Annie P. Larosa acknowledged and presented the 248 medical professionals deployed by the regional DOH as its commitment “to augment human resources for health for the province-wide health system in Davao de Oro.”

Of this batch, 9 are Doctors to the Barios (DTTB) under the post-residency deployment program. Of those in their post-residency program, three would be assigned with the DDO Provincial Hospital (DDOPH) in the municipality of Laak, one with the DDOPH in Maragusan, three with DDOPH in Pantukan and two with the DDOPH in Montevista.

The others in the batch were 154 nurses, 44 midwives, 11 medical technologists, 11 pharmacists, two physical therapists, two nutritionists, three dentists, and three molecular laboratory technologists.

Dr. Larosa said the midwives are DOH scholars on return service.

The presentation of the deployed medical professionals was witnessed by Assistant Provincial Health Officers Dr. Mary Cyril G. Pasaol and Dr. Abigail Amores and Acting Provincial Administrator Fatima Montejo.

Davao de Oro, mining province known to be rich in gold and copper minerals, is formerly known as Compostela Valley province.

Meanwhile, the Association of Municipal Health Officers of the Philippines (AMHOP)—Davao de Oro Chapter elected its new set of officers with Governor Dorothy Montejo-Gonzaga administering the oath-taking ceremony at the Provincial Capitol Lobby.

Dr. Cynthia M. Amoguis, municipal health officer (MHO) of Mawab, was elected president.

“I am humbled and honored to serve as the president of this association. Our vision is to provide the highest quality healthcare to our constituents,” Dr. Amoguis said.

She thanked Governor Gonzaga and the Provincial Health Office for supporting the Department of Health programs.

“Together we make real and lasting differences. I am confident that we can accomplish these things together as we strive to create healthier and more resilient communities”, Dr. Amoguis added.

The election of officers was held last month at General Luna town on the island of Siargao, Surigao del Norte.

Also elected were MHO Compostela Dr. Kay L. Rodriguez as vice-president, MHO Monkayo Dr. Aldin S. Piamonte as Secretary, MHO Maco Dr. Lycel Kaye L. Alaba as Treasurer, MHO Pantukan Dr. Nina Kristine T. Arancon as Auditor, and MHO Mabini Dr. Bernalisa B. Gesim as Public Information Officer.

Elected to the board were MHO Nabunturan Dr. Danielo O. Rubillos, MHO Laak Dr. Julius Jaekel L. Remollo, MHO Maragusan Dr. Efren O. Pates, MHO Montevista Dr. Robert S. Solilap, and MHO New Bataan Dr. Aurea S. Solilap.

Governor Gonzaga reminded the new officers to act in the best interest of the association and the people as a whole.

“I know that they have this high responsibility in life. Imagine they are doctors and we could not deny how honorable for them to chose to remain in public service despite the opportunities for private practice. Congratulations doctors,” Gonzaga said.

Image credits: Zaggoudi | Dreamstime.com

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -