30 C
Thursday, April 18, 2024

Bedans rule speed kicking

- Advertisement -

SAN BEDA ruled taekwondo’s speed kicking competition after pocketing three juniors division gold medals at the end of the four-day tournament on Monday in the 96th National Collegiate Athletic Association.

Light middleweight Louell Mamaclay won the gold with 6.500 points, while Emilio Aguinaldo College’s (EAC) John Cris Samson took the silver with 6.458 points and College of Saint Benilde-La Salle Greenhills’s (CSB-LSGH) Javier Dexter Macasaet settled for the bronze with 6.383 points.

Lightweight Philip Joshua Lee pocketed the gold with 7.083 points, beating EAC’s duo of Leigh Cyril Aslarona (6.108) and Aubrey Gacilos (5.942).

Bantamweight Ignatius Vicente Lorenzo Pinera scored 6.750 points to capture the gold over Lyceum of the Philippines University’s Dirk Ranque (6.483) and Letran’s LeBron James Alemania (6.200).

Reymundo Calamba III and Jian Alden Jose Arceo gave San Beda silver medals in the flyweight and heavyweight division, respectively, while welterweight Seth Nathaniel Go and featherweight Marlex Mercado settled with bronze for the Taytay-based school.

CSB-LSGH finished second behind San Beda with two gold medals courtesy of welterweight Victor Emmanuel Rodriguez and middleweight Raphael Ongkiko, while light middleweight Javier Dexter Macasaet provided the Greenies’ a bronze medal.

Letran’s Luke Morel (featherweight), LPU’s John Patrick Moneda (flyweight) and Arellano University’s Joshua Lyndon Dionio (heavyweight) also won gold medals.

Speed kicking competition in the seniors’ category will begin Tuesday with the men’s division, while the women’s section will be played from June 30 to July 5.

Read full article on BusinessMirror

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -