17 Negros Occidental Mayors Made It, But Big Upsets for Others


Seventeen incumbent mayors got re-elected in Monday’s midterm election in Negros Occidental.

Official result from the Commission on Election showed, those who got reeelected are Bago City City Mayor Nicholas Yulo, Candoni Mayor Ceciro Borromeo, Cauayan Mayor John Rey Tabujara, E.B. Magalona Mayor Marvin Malacon, Hinigaran Mayor Jose Nadie Arceo, Hinoba-an Mayor Ernesto Estrao,
La Carlota Mayor Jacky Jalandoni;

La Castellana Mayor Rhumyla Manguilimutan, Pulupandan Mayor Miguel Antonio Peña, Sagay City Mayor Alfredo “Thirdy” Marañon, Salvador Benedicto Mayor Marxlen Dela Cruz, San Enrique Mayor Jilson Tubillara;

Silay City Mayor Mark Andrew Golez, Talisay City Mayor Nilo Antonio Lizares, Toboso Mayor Richard Jaojoco, Valladolid Mayor Enrique Miravelles and Victorias City Mayor Francis Frederick Palanca.

Others who won the mayoralty election are Cadiz City Mayor Salvador Escalante, Jr., Calatrava Mayor Marilyn Era, Escalante City Mayor Melecio Yap, Ilog Mayor John Paul Alvarez;

Kabankalan City Mayor Pedro Zayco, San Carlos City Mayor Renato Gustilo, and Sipalay City Mayor Maria Gina Lizares.

Sixteen mayors are under the United Negros Alliance (UNEGA) while 15 are members of Love-Negros.

As of presstime, waiting for their official proclamation were Governor Eugenio Jose Lacson and Vice Governor Jeffrey Ferrer.

Lacson won over his opponent while Ferrer’s challenger withdrew.


Elected members of the House of Representatives in the six congressional districts of Negros Occ. are Gerardo Valmayor (unopposed) for the First District, Leo Rafael Cueva (unopposed) for the Second District, Francisco Benitez (unopposed) for the Third District, Juliet Marie Ferrer for the Fourth District, Maria Lourdes Arroyo-Lesaca (unopposed) for the Fifth District, and Genaro Alvarez for the Sixth District who won over his opponent by a big margin.

Isabela Mayor Joselito Malabor lost to Dr. Irene Montilla by 48 votes.
Malabor, then the vice mayor in 2017 assumed the post vacated by Montilla’s husband, Enrique, the mayor who succumbed to a lingering illness.

Incumbent Binalbagan Mayor Emmanuel Aranda lost to 5th District Rep. Alejandro Mirasol.
Mirasol’s wife lost to Aranda in the 2016 mayoralty race.
Both are former political allies.

In Himamaylan City, the decade-rule of the Bascons came to an end after Vice Mayor Carminia Bascon, ran for mayor but lost to Raymond Tongson.

Another dramatic win is in Moises Padilla where Vice Mayor Ella Garcia-Yulo won by a big margin over her uncle Mayor Magdaleno Peña.

Garcia got 13,056, while Peña has 5,493 votes. The Garcias have accused Peña to be allegedly behind the ambush on the convoy of Ella last April 25 while campaigning in Brgy. Inolingan in the town.
Ella’s brother Marc and nephew Michael were killed in the ambush.

Peña has denied the accusation.

Ella’s entire slate including the vice mayor and councilors made a clean sweep of the election.(NDB)

Leave a Reply