LRMC announces free LRT-1 rides on Independence Day 2023


LRT-1 private operator Light Rail Manila Corporation (LRMC) joins the nation in celebrating the 125th anniversary of the Philippine Independence Day on 12 June 2023 as it announced that it will offer free rides to LRT-1 passengers from 7:00am – 9:00am and 5:00pm – 7:00pm.

Existing beep™ card holders shall pass through the usual Automated Fare Collection System (AFCS) gates and tap their cards to avail of the free ride without charge. Passengers without beep™ may get single journey tickets for free from the LRT-1 teller booths.

LRT-1 will follow holiday operating hours schedule on Independence Day, with the first trips leaving both Baclaran and Roosevelt stations at 4:30am, and the last trips at 9:30pm (Baclaran Station) and 9:45pm (Roosevelt Station).

For more updates and info on the LRT-1, follow LRMC on Facebook at, Twitter at @officialLRT1, or download the ikotMNL mobile app for free on Google Play and App Store.