Govt lowers quarantine levels in three provinces


PROMPTED by the declining number of new novel coronavirus disease (Covid-19) and other developments in Bulacan, Apayao and Capiz this month, the government decided to lower the quarantine restrictions in the three provinces.

In a brief statement last Sunday, Presidential Spokesman Harry Roque said the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF) opted to place the three areas under general community quarantine (GCQ).

“Bulacan and Apayao were initially placed under Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ) while Capiz was initially placed under GCQ with heightened restrictions,” Roque said.

The new qualification will be in effect from October 18 to October 31.

Based on the Covid-19 tracker website of the Department of Health (DOH), the 2,106 weekly average Covid-19 cases in Bulacan from September 30 to October 6, 2021 dropped to 1,452 the following week.

In Apayao, it was 227 to 73 and in Capiz it was 260 to 244.

Likewise, bed occupancy levels in the health facilities in the three provinces are also around 50 percent per area.

Both Covid-19 cases and available health care facilities are among the usual considerations used by the IATF in deciding the quarantine classification of a specific area.

Last Thursday, it was also reported that Bulacan Gov. Daniel Fernando will appeal to the IATF to lower the community quarantine restriction in his province.

Bulacan, Apayao and Capiz will now be included in other areas to be placed under GCQ until the end of the month.

The list includes: Ilocos Norte; Dagupan City; Ifugao; Benguet; Tarlac; Lucena City; Occidental Mindoro; Oriental Mindoro; Puerto Princesa; Marinduque; Albay; and Camarines Norte for Luzon; Aklan; Antique; Guimaras; Negros Occidental; Iloilo City; Iloilo Province; Cebu City; Cebu Province; Mandaue City; Siquijor; and, Tacloban City for the Visayas.

In Mindanao, the GCQ areas are: Zamboanga Sibugay; Misamis Occidental; Iligan City; Davao City; Davao Oriental; Davao del Sur; General Santos City; Sultan Kudarat; Sarangani; North Cotabato; South Cotabato; Agusan del Norte; Agusan del Sur; Surigao del Norte; Dinagat Islands; Cotabato City; and, Lanao del Sur for Mindanao.

Read full article on BusinessMirror

Leave a Reply